To benefit from the Groups feature, you should review the assignment of a key permission: whether users are permitted to view all evidence or only their own.
When you implement group-based evidence monitoring, users need the permission to view their own evidence only. When you add a user to a monitoring group, the Groups feature enables the user to view the evidence of all members in the groups being monitored.
If you previously allowed leaders to view all evidence in order to enable them to view the evidence of their subordinates, when you implement the Groups feature, you should change the permissions of leaders to view their own evidence only and rely on the Groups feature to enable appropriate access to evidence.
Additionally, the Groups feature has no effect on whether evidence search results show a user evidence that the user does not have permission to view. If a user is allowed the User Search permission, evidence search results list evidence that the user does not have permission to view, but from search results, the user can request access to the evidence.
Evidence.com also provides permissions for the following actions:
- Creating, updating, and deleting groups.
- Viewing group audit trails.